mong all the music written for the violin, Bach's Sonatas and Partitas for the solo violin stand as one of the most revered magnum opuses. The monumental work comprises of three Sonatas and three Partitas. The Sonatas are compositions containing several movements arranged in fast-fugue-slow-fast. The Partitas are collections of dance-based movements. They are works of miracle that explores the wide spectrum of emotions poured from a single instrument. The music possesses this sacred and wonderful mysterious quality to it that often invoke the divine.

Bach Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin Calligraphic Flourishing Corona Ironwork Design Divine Music for the Violin

Bach's Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin is revered among musicians as the most divine and sacred music ever written for the instrument.

The main body of the violin is formed by countless delicate calligraphic lines that flow and swirl around each other. It represents musical harmony where there are tensions and releases. The design incorporates elements from the violin's construction like the chin rest, bridge, f-hole, tail-piece and fingerboard. They are deliberately concealed among the flourishes, whereas the scroll and bow are realistically illustrated in copper-engraving style.

Bach Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin Calligraphic Engraved Delicate Flourishing Chaconne Ironwork Design.

The delicate calligraphic lines form the violin and conceal the unique features of the violin anatomy such as the f-hole, chin rest, tail-piece and fingerboard. The ampersand also forms the bridge.

The title "Sonatas & Partitas" are presented in a rather ambiguous manner. Some of the letters may not be as obvious to read. The letters also interact with the flourishes and sometimes they obscures some of the shapes. Cutting off and sometimes elongate them.

Bach Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin Calligraphic Flourishing Detail Wrought Iron Poster Design.

Among the abstracted form of the violin, the scroll and the bow are distincly presented in engraved illustration style.

Framing above and below the calligraphic violin are the Corona Ironwork. They are ornamental designs that crown the whole piece. The official title given by Bach is worked into the ironwork. On the top Corona, it reads "Sei Solo a Violino Senza Basso Accompagnato." (Six pieces for solo violin without bass accompaniment). On the bottom Corona, it reads "Libro Primo - Johann Sebastian Bach 1720 Weimar". Libro Primo means First Book since Bach also composed a second set of solo music for the cello. The year 1720 indicates the year when the work was completed. Bach started composing these works while in Weimar.

Bach Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin Calligraphic Flourishing Black Corona Ironwork Design Libro Primo - Johann Sebastian Bach.

In the details of the ironwork corona, we can find the original title of the piece by Bach and the dedication.

The classical cartouche design and marble molding that adorns the Corona Ironwork represents each music. Each of them bears the title of the piece and the key in which they are written. Together they form into this exuberant piece of design.

Bach Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin Poster with Stradivarius Violin.

Bach's Sonatas and Partitas is a work of miracle that explores the wide spectrum of emotions poured from a single instrument.

Dedicated to James Ehnes. For his immaculate interpretation of this masterpiece. I was very grateful when he agreed to meet me and personally signed this artwork for my own keeping in Sydney, 2016. It will be cherished forever. He, of course, has one of the copy along with the monogram I made for him and his wife. We had a lively chat about Bach, concertos, and the life of a concert artist in the concert hall café. James plays the 1715 ex-'Marsick' Stradivarius.

Bach Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin Dedicated to James Ehnes. Signature of James. With Andrew Novialdi.

James and I

Size: 53 x 40 cm / 20.8 x 15.7 in
Media: Vector
 Burgo 9Lives 55Silk Coated Paper 250 gr

Gilded with 24carat Gold


Ungilded Artprint


Artprint Series - Love Joy, Love Blues, Love Lost


Artprint - Love Joy


Artprint - Love Blues


Artprint - Love Lost


Artprint Series - Ivory Parchment & Imperial Blue


Ungilded Artprint


Gilded with 24carat Gold


Display Typeface

$5 - $50